The long game on Twitter

I like playing what I’m calling ‘the long game’ on Twitter. It’s a narrative that, due to the nature of Twitter, has an arc that is only obvious to me. I’d like to think others notice it as well but that would require some serious time and effort. Essentially, the long game is a series of tweets that tell a story.

Here’s my #vampireweekend.

I’ve lost touch with my hunger impulse. Bit worried.

Thirsty.

*sips* hmm…thank you…I want something…red-er…

The blood of mine enemies mixed with a little wine, please and thank you.

Cheers! *downs the drink* *smiles a red smile* *flits off into the night*

The low light in that bar messed with my vision. All I can see is sparkles.

Throwing the garlic out. Can hardly bring myself to touch it. It stinks.

Probably just low in iron, Off to have steak (rare) for tea.

Here’s one relating to the daffodil story from yesterday featuring replies from a variety of other players.

MONDAY

Me: Purchased some daffodils to cheer myself up.

Those flowers bode only EEEEVIL.

Me: I’m not going to eat them!

WEDNESDAY

Me: No. I am not interested in a debate on “Are Libraries Worth Saving?” Thanks though. #FarCough

I think you should go. Remember we live in a nation of people who think like that schmuck from Marlborough.

Me: Are you trying to kill me?

You bought YOURSELF the daffodils, remember?

DON’T EAT THEM!

Me: I AM NOT GOING TO EAT THE DAFFODILS.

Go to the debate! “I’MMA EAT THESE DAFFODILS IF YOU DON’T ‘SAVE’ LIBRARIES!” It’ll be like DOG DAY AFTERNOON.

THURSDAY MORNING

Me: Daffodil update: they are looking a bit wilted. Headcold update: It’s still here.

DON’T EAT THEM. It’s my only advice.

Me: It’s okay. I am not going to eat the daffodils.

THURSDAY AFTERNOON

Me: Bye daffodils. You were lovely while you lasted. *nibbles petal*

And there is where it stopped for me. I like the idea that there is a version of me in the ‘verse that would experiment to see just how sick one would get from eating daffodils.

Much to my joy my tweeps carried the story forward.

ah.. @booksadventures – you obviously haven’t told @librarykris your poisonous daffodil story! Quickly- save her! Stop her!

*You’re* the Starfleet medic! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r0yXqU-w9U0 … “Very dead, Mr. Spock”

Hah – I know that story – somewhere he has one of our Kiwi daffodil day pins to commemorate

the infamous daffodil story. Do you cringe and have flashbacks on Daffodil Day, Finch?

Are you kidding me, it inaugurated one of the happiest times of my life

For the record, I did not nibble the daffodils.

They were well past their best.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

