Te Ūpoko o te Ika a Māui AGM 2013

The Wellington regional group of LIANZA held a breakfast AGM on 14 August 2013. The speaker this year was Moata Tamaira. I’ve known Moata online for a few years so was really surprised when she pointed out that we’ve only met a few times kanohi ki te kanohi. “Surely not!” I said. On reflection she was correct. We have met at a few conferences, and seen each other maybe a couple of times when I was down in Christchurch. I guess we feel like we know each other because we read each others blogs (well, I read hers) and we chat on Twitter.

Librarians, here’s what she had to say:

  • NZ-libs is not the be-all and end-all of communication. Encompass more communication channels.
  • Put things on the internet. Go digital by default, not as an afterthought. “I live on the web, I expect everything to be on the web. What I want is ‘See this link for more information’. Make it easy for me to share things.
  • Signage! Lot of negative signage around the place. Gives people the impression they’re not wanted. [Here she referenced a tweet I’d made “Avoid wordprocessing and laminating your anger” which was from the Fi Emberton presentation at LIANZA 2010. #CitationAchieved]
  • Advocating for libraries. ““Libraries are relevant” – that’s like the lowest possible bar we could set for ourselves. It’s like saying we’re really adequate. Universities don’t have libraries because they think they’re relevant, they have the because they NEED them. They’re essential.
  • Go forth and be awesome.

I really liked her comments about advocating for library service. The library I work at has external subscribers so her comments about putting things on the internet also gave me something to think about. (Most of our stuff does go on the website but I’m pretty sure we could do better.) Now I need to work out how to make it so other people can demonstrate our essential-ness for us…

 

Thanks to Moata for the inspiration, and the Te Ūpoko o te Ika a Māui Committee for organising the breakfast.

One thought on “Te Ūpoko o te Ika a Māui AGM 2013

Leave a Reply

