Change your perspective

For the last couple weeks my Twitter profile pic has been me, under my desk, eating chocolate.

Under the desk

I did it as a laugh. Then I did it again the other day (this time with an allsorts bar) for another laugh.

Allsorts

There’s something about hiding under a desk that is quite ridiculous. Down there, with the footstool, the cables, and the emergency supplies, it’s possible to see things in a different way. I’m a fan of the ‘reframe’ where I take a situation which is bad and/or stressing me out and reframe it so it’s not stressing me out anymore. The situation hasn’t changed but the way I view it has. Usually this is coming up with a Plan B. “If it happens like this then I will do that.” “If I can’t get there, then I will go here.” In fact, I probably post about this every year because this is one of my special skills. If you need something reframed, I’m your reframer.

However, I also have a kryptonite and that’s reframing around money. Mainly the lack thereof and what that does to the neatness I like in my life. I’m working on it. It’s slow going. I’m pleased to have discovered that I am the type of person who will take a lower paying job because of ‘principles’. (Or whatever those things are that used to wake me up at 1.33am.) I’d just like to have the principles AND the money.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

