I’m better when I’m busy

It’s something I try not to think about too often – I’m better when I’m busy. Things get done, effectively and efficiently. The To-do list is full of tasks achieved. I am better prepared, better equipped to finish things simply because I have to be. There is no other option.

I enjoy life more when I’m not busy. I get to choose what I want to do. I can spend a whole day reading or watching DVDs or out with friends or driving around the coast. Things get done. Eventually. Maybe. My grandfather used to tell my mother “Laziness is no good unless it’s well carried out.” He knew the value of having nothing to do. (For a given value of nothing – his value of nothing is sure to look different to my value of nothing.)

When I am not busy I struggle to find motivation. Often I’ll have a list of four or five things that I want to achieve in a weekend. Mostly housework stuff, if the truth be known. I’m not fussed if I don’t get them all done because there’s always more time. There’s always tomorrow. It’s not exactly procrastination, there just isn’t any urgency.

Although I am more satisfied with progress when I am busy, I am more satisfied with life when I am not.

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “I’m better when I’m busy

  1. Cath Sheard says:

    I hear you and, unfortunately, totally understand. I think it’s a #firstworldproblem that didn’t exist for our grandmothers.
    I read a non-fiction recently about life in an Amish household; they don’t have the problem either. If it’s daylight – they work, if it’s dark – they rest, if it’s ripe – they pick it… The visitor who wrote the book felt that although they work hard they also get more relaxation time than city people, because once the day ends, they relax and spend time together.

  2. ajwillemse91 says:

    How do you write what is exactly in my mind? I completely agree! I am completely the same; very efficient & organized when I have heaps on and when I don’t, I am easier on myself (aka don’t do as much! :D) I also agree with your last sentence “Although I am more satisfied with progress when I am busy, I am more satisfied with life when I am not.” What a perfect summary! I think it’s also good to cut yourself some slack and have a bit of a ‘life’ when you don’t have so much pressure on 🙂

Leave a Reply

