Timing

18062011286

One of the joys of unpacking all my stuff from storage is discovering items that I love. My ‘signature green jacket’ (as my sister calls it), my polar fleece trackies, and the piece of equipment in the photo – my kitchen timer. I consider it to be an essential bit of kitchen kit, right up there with the Edmonds cookbook. I use it for all sorts of things – timing baked goods, letting me know when the boiled water is cool enough to pour over coffee grounds, reminding me that the pasta has been boiling for long enough, alerting me to the fact that the bus gets to the stop in 10 mins and it’s time to leave the house, etc.
If you’re stuck for a housewarming gift then I recommend a timer (especially for first time flatters who may not be used to cooking – it will save potatoes before they boil dry and stick to the pot!)

Tagged

One thought on “Timing

  1. Figgles says:

    After a run of unsuccessful mechanical timers I find my iPhone the best kitchen timer of the lot! Just have to have clean hands when setting it!

Leave a Reply

