Smack My Arts

First draft of the #smackmyarts programme (becuase I'm assuming I'm organising it.)?? I've tried to cover Art, Music, Theatre, Comedy, Musical and a variety of stuff in between.?? I thought we could pose some questions and then answer them in blog posts.?? Most things are available for more than one night.?? Exceptions – February and August.?? Cost – unclear at this stage but I reckon we're looking at approx $300-$400 for the whole thing.

I'd like to stuff in a lecture and a cabaret or circus show (because that seems to be the latest cool thing.)?? Plus I think a local show of some sort would be a good addition.

Let me know what you think.

January: Taste: Food and Feasting in Art?? Auckland Art Gallery. Food in Art. (I think it would be nice if we could meet up for lunch before/after going to see this.)

??
February: Rufus Wainwright at The Civic. (February 23)
??
March: I Heart Camping?? STAMP
??

April: Comedy Festival!???? (No actual details yet…)

May: TBC

June:?? SWEENEY TODD by Stephen Sondheim?? Peach Theatre Company

July:
Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare?? ATC

August:?? Unwrap the Music. Two.?? Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra. (August 12.)

September:?? Thom Pain [based on nothing] by Will Eno. Silo Theatre

October: TBC

November:??
Auckland Domain Sculpture Walk

December:??
TBC

??
??
4 thoughts on “Smack My Arts

  1. Anonymous says:

    Fantastic Kris!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Cool! Here’s what I had planned for myself and my own one arty/cultural/experience per month schedule so far:JanuaryFebruary Rufus Wainwright ?March April Wilco *May Auckland Music Theatre – RentJune NZ Opera – Marriage of Figaro *July RNZB – CarmenAugustSeptember NZ Opera – Macbeth *OctoberNovemberDecemberSo, pretty empty! Not sure I’ll have money for Rufus Wainwright, since I’ve already got my sub for the opera and paid for Wilco. Hope the tickets don’t sell out before next year!I also liked the look of Assassins at Silo Theatre, Importance of Being Earnest, and a few other plays. 🙂

  3. Anonymous says:

    thanks Lewis!Sarah – So opera’s your thing huh? @corinh and @kiwiseabreeze might want to go with you. I’m definitely in for the plays and maybe Rent (seems a shame to miss it but it will be $$ that determine it in the end.)

  4. Sarah says:

    Actually, I’ve never been to the opera, but I wanted to give it a try – so I got a cheap sub. Now I’ve got the tickets, I have to go. 😀

Leave a Reply

